IBD Care Recognition

IBD Care Recognition

About the Program

The Bridges to Excellence (BTE) IBD Care Recognition program enables clinicians to demonstrate superior quality of care in the treatment of IBD. Participants who meet thresholds for quality will receive recognition through the Health Care Incentives Improvement Institute’s (HCI3) BTE program, which is used by health payors to determine recognition and premium network status, as well as financial incentives. The program’s quality measures are approved by the AMA’s Physician Consortium on Performance Improvement, and are additionally included in the CMS’ Physician Quality Reporting Program (PQRS) for 2012. Use the resources available on this site to determine your eligibility and begin the process of applying for recognition.

Benefits of Recognition

  • Clinicians may use the BTE Recognition to demonstrate that they meet the high standards of care assessed by the program when contracting with health organizations and purchasers of health services.
  • Where applicable, clinicians can establish eligibility for pay-for-performance bonuses or differential reimbursement or other incentives from payers and health plans.
  • Clinicians can demonstrate to the public and to their professional peers that they meet the high standards of care assessed by the program by issuing a press release, as well as having their recognition achievements posted on BTE’s consumer portal, Vitals (www.vitals.com), and communicated to both health plans and employers.
  • Clinicians can identify areas of their practice that vary from the performance criteria and take steps to improve quality of care.

How Recognition is Determined

The following measures are scored to determine recognition status. Each measure has a total possible number of points available, out of 100 total. If an applicant achieves the minimum points to pass (60), he or she will be deemed “recognized” under the program.

Measures Points
Measure 1: IBD Type, Anatomic Location, Disease Activity, and External Manifestations Assessed (PQRS Measure 269) 20
Measure 2: Corticosteroid-Sparing Therapy Prescribed (PQRS Measure 270) 20
Measure 3: Bone Loss Assessment for Patients Receiving Corticosteroid Therapy (PQRS Measure 271) 15
Measure 4: Testing for latent TB before initiating anti-TNF therapy (PQRS Measure 274) 10
Measure 5: Assessment of hepatitis B virus before initiating anti-TNF therapy (PQRS Measure 275) 10
Measure 6: Influenza Immunization (PQRS Measure 272) 5
Measure 7: Pneumococcal Immunization (PQRS Measure 273) 5
Measure 8: Tobacco Screening and Cessation Counseling (PQRS Measure 226) 15
Total Possible Points 100
Points to Pass 60


Eligible Clinicians

The following clinician types are eligible for participation:

  • Physician or Doctor of Osteopathy (MD, DO)
  • Nurse Practitioner (NP)
  • Physician Assistant (PA)

Choose your path to Recognition